Tales from the Notebook

The Occurrence of Ideas

    It happens often, an idea enters my mind randomly only to tug at my every move until I write it down. It may be a single word or a phrase or two but it will often “attack” my faculties until I’ve freed it from its cranial cell. And when I finally have the liberty to do so it either escapes in whole or in part. It’s irritating sometimes, still I am writing at least. I’d rather have an inkling of something from my pen then nothing at all.

I have pages of forgotten verse scribbled with love and scribbled in haste. Some have been thrown out because they’ve spoiled while others have made my little idea book. The inhabitants of my little book are ones which have yet to be forgotten by myself or time. Though they are fragments of thought, they are not “orphans”, without a piece or a notebook to call home. No–they sit within the ruled notebook waiting to be plucked and inserted into a poem or a piece of prose.

Sometimes I find my location more amusing than the idea that occurs to me in that moment.  Sleeping becomes an absurdity, as I am waken from a deep sleep in order to record the thought. It becomes a pleasant distraction from the daily routine. A walk in the park or seat on a park swing is greeted by a witty obersvation that must be introduced to paper. A museum. In the bathroom, etc.

Life is an arsenal of inspiration for writers and artists alike. Sometimes when the urge hits us to create we are overcome by writer’s block. It’s agony, the desire to write is there yet the idea is naught. Lately I’ve found my inspiration and my desire to write converging when I am awhile from the computer or my notebbok. The reward is a little bit of surprise. Maybe something can come from nothing–even through the vehicle of art.

Where will you be when an idea just occurs to you? Where was the weirdest place you’ve been where an idea just crept up on you? Love Write!
(c) 2010 onecanvasonesoul/j.ajabad

About j.ajabad (1canvas1soul)

I'm an artist of the poetic persuasion yet I dabble in papercrafts, art journaling and scrapbooking!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Canvas Contents

*~NOTICE~*

All photos, artwork, and text is the creation and property of j.ajabad. UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED! ANY and ALL pieces contributed to Canvas Poesiart are the sole property of the author(s) and or artist(s) who have generously submitted their work(s) to the Canvas Poesiart blog. (Whenever possible Canvas Poesiart gives proper credit and recognition to those who contribute to the blog.) ALL RIGHTS RESERVED! No part of this blog maybe copied or used without the written permission of the author(s) and or artist(s). !CANVAS POESIART LOVES WRITE!

CURRENTS

