Creative Notions

Letters To Heaven

I’ve found that the best way to cope with death is to write a letter to your loved one. This recollection arrives after the two year anniversary of my father’s death. I am visited by the memory of writing letters to my late friend. I wrote letters to my friend nearly every year until the grieving eased or at least I felt a little more at ease. At the time I was in high school and dealing with my friend’s death. I guess at that time, I probably felt that it was unfair for a great friendship to be taken away. Anyways, those letters which ended up being composed as poems helped me deal. Some I’ve kept while others I imagined the wind carrying them away.
Everyone’s coping process is different but writing for me at least, has helped me find some sort of closure. These letters can be regular letters or written in poetic form. You write your final farewells and anything you may have never said for one reason or another. You can keep it or release it into the world. Sometimes it’s a great tool to use at either the beginning or the end of the grieving process. These letters can be written as a one time event or whenever you feel the need. I hope this letter suggestion helps someone who maybe dealing with a loss of a loved one. Grief isn’t easy but it doesn’t have to be difficult. Maybe death is inevitable, but allow me to leave you with something to ponder–a quote and an impromptu verse from my muse:

“Death ends a life, not a relationship.”–Robert Benchley

Hold the portraits of your loss in the locket that is your heart, breathing in their memory when tears swell in your eyes. For they have not left your side, they reside within!

 Love Write

j.ajabad

About j.ajabad (1canvas1soul)

I'm an artist of the poetic persuasion yet I dabble in papercrafts, art journaling and scrapbooking!

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Letters To Heaven

  1. I think that’s a wonderful aid to the grieving process, as is any form of self-expression. One needs to untangle so many thoughts and feelings after a significant death.

    Like

    Posted by nothingprofound | February 18, 2011, 4:58 pm
  2. HI @canvas soul
    I am glad that you have found a way to deal with the grief of losing a loved one. Sadly, it’s something we will all have to face. For those of faith, it is the promise of seeing them again and the strength we receive from God that helps, but still that doesn’t erase the pain we may feel now. Any positive way we find to cope and then move on through the pain is a good thing.

    Like

    Posted by jayme | February 20, 2011, 2:46 pm
    • Jayme–
      Thanks for the feedback. I’m currently grieving but I thought if this could help someone who is than that will make me happy. I know we all cope differently but it’s always nice to know that we’ve all been through it. There are positive ways to cope with this. And this is what I’m striving for. Positive self expression is healthy.

      Like

      Posted by onecanvasonesoul | February 22, 2011, 2:32 pm
  3. That is a lovely idea and lovely quote. This sounds a bit silly in the context –and I really don’t mean to make any comparison at all between the loss of a parent and the loss of an animal–but I remember when I was a child writing a letter to my lost and most beloved dog. (It was my first true loss.) I didn’t know how to post the letter so ended up putting it an encyclopedia under D. Again, I’m very sorry for your loss, and not making any comparison, but I remember how comforting that was.

    Like

    Posted by manicddaily | April 20, 2011, 9:38 pm
    • @Manicdaily thank you for your comment. It’s been a couple years now since my dad died and 9 since my friend passed. I often feel them both even as of late. Also I don’t see much different between the loss of a parent, friend or pet. Each of them represent a loving relationship. And our pets are part of the family and our circle of friends. And the first loss is usually hardest because it’s the first time we are introduced to it yet each loss is different. Hmmm. I guess it’s the only thing that doesn’t become easier with time because the process occurs accoding to the relationship.

      Like

      Posted by onecanvasonesoul | April 20, 2011, 9:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Canvas Contents

*~NOTICE~*

All photos, artwork, and text is the creation and property of j.ajabad. UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED! ANY and ALL pieces contributed to Canvas Poesiart are the sole property of the author(s) and or artist(s) who have generously submitted their work(s) to the Canvas Poesiart blog. (Whenever possible Canvas Poesiart gives proper credit and recognition to those who contribute to the blog.) ALL RIGHTS RESERVED! No part of this blog maybe copied or used without the written permission of the author(s) and or artist(s). !CANVAS POESIART LOVES WRITE!

CURRENTS

