A.R.T, Creative Notions

The Harmony of Friendship

After all these years, Nsync’s “This I Promise You” is still part of my life’s soundtrack. It’s the only boyband song I still listen to and its meaning has evolved since the first time I’ve heard it.

At one time it was a mutual favorite of my friend’s too. It was played at my friend’s memorial service. This beautiful song made me feel like my friend was reaching out all who attended promising us she’d always be here with us–forever. A short time after that I found myself crying when I heard it at the mall.

About 9.5 years later the song still accompanies my friend’s memory. For instance, the other night as I reflected on how much I still admire her courage, strength, and compassion for others the song filled my head. As it began to lull me to sleep, this verse made me smile:

“I’ve loved you forever,
In lifetimes before
And I promise you never…
Will you hurt anymore.”–
N’sync’s This I Promise You

I began to wonder about the source of my friend’s strength. Though she had never mentioned God, I found her strength, courage, and compassion to be unwavering–solid. She never cursed hydrocephalus for all the surgeries she had to go through. She carried with her an angel through every single countless surgery. She put others before herself. And was far more interested in educating her peers about hydrocephalus than submitting to it as its victim or patient, even.

My friend Jackie Olsen was like a sister to me and perhaps my biggest fan. I think she was perhaps the first of my friends and peers to see my potential even though I couldn’t. I felt that she was always rooting for me too. She was and always will be among the greatest friends I’ve ever had. Even now she still inspires me. I smile a little more too.

And I know now that the measure of a great friendship is how they inspire you even after they pass from life. It’s the lessons they teach you while they are here. And it’s how we keep their memories that keeps the friendship alive. Death isn’t strong enough to rob us of our friendships and other relationships.

Love Write,

j.ajabad

About j.ajabad (1canvas1soul)

I'm an artist of the poetic persuasion yet I dabble in papercrafts, art journaling and scrapbooking!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Canvas Contents

*~NOTICE~*

All photos, artwork, and text is the creation and property of j.ajabad. UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED! ANY and ALL pieces contributed to Canvas Poesiart are the sole property of the author(s) and or artist(s) who have generously submitted their work(s) to the Canvas Poesiart blog. (Whenever possible Canvas Poesiart gives proper credit and recognition to those who contribute to the blog.) ALL RIGHTS RESERVED! No part of this blog maybe copied or used without the written permission of the author(s) and or artist(s). !CANVAS POESIART LOVES WRITE!

CURRENTS

