Prompt Jar

The Write Idea

The Write Idea by onecanvasonesoul
The Write Idea, a photo by onecanvasonesoul on Flickr.
Sometimes our creativity needs a jump start just like the battery of a car. However, a writing prompt can often hinder the spontaneity of the creative process. Above is a piece of Canvas Stationary with a check box list of options for the pen. Maybe it’s still intrusive to the creative process or maybe it isn’t. Either way its goal is meant to get the pen moving and you writing.
There are about 10 potential prompts on this check list. I chose to write about my most vivid dream. Below I wrote one stanza in the space below. It read:
“I remember a house
of a Victorian nature
whose key was lost…”
I had this dream when I was maybe 9 years old. I was in this weird house that I had never seen before. For some reason I was frantically looking for some key. I didn’t know what it was to or the reason. Nevertheless, I was determined to do so. What I remembered most about that dream was the resolve to find that key was with me upon waking. I searched for it in my desk and a few minutes later realized…there wasn’t any key, it had been a dream. I never have forgotten that dream. I sometimes remember that “lost key” when I feel, in a word, lost.
This writing excercise made me realize that even though writing prompts are prescribed or prewritten, what we generate are still our own pieces. After all every journey begins somewhere and writing is no different.
What is your opinion about writing prompts?
Love Write,
j.ajabad 2012
About onecanvasonesoul

I'm an artist of the poetic persuasion yet I dabble in papercrafts, art journaling and scrapbooking!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Canvas Contents

*~NOTICE~*

All photos, artwork, and text is the creation and property of j.ajabad. UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED! ANY and ALL pieces contributed to Canvas Poesiart are the sole property of the author(s) and or artist(s) who have generously submitted their work(s) to the Canvas Poesiart blog. (Whenever possible Canvas Poesiart gives proper credit and recognition to those who contribute to the blog.) ALL RIGHTS RESERVED! No part of this blog maybe copied or used without the written permission of the author(s) and or artist(s). !CANVAS POESIART LOVES WRITE!

CURRENTS

