Drenched in Verse & Paint, Poememes

Poememes: Art Journal page

A weed

Click on the image to view the growth of the weed.

For this week I could not come up with much of a prompt. Instead I  thought I’d share a piece that took me forever to complete! Why do  you ask?! Well plain and simple I felt the need to find the perfect way  to add the little sentiment/poememe to my journal page.  Seeking “the  perfect medium” for my poememe was counter-productive to the art  journaling journey conviction. I began this “journey” November 2012  and finally finished it last month. I sighed with a “Wow” myself after  completing it. This truly was a journey with a detour that lasted almost  two years.

I drew the weed and as I outlined the piece the thought came to my  mind: “Nurture the seeds you plant, lest they sprout weeds.” I wrote it  down and was determined to use it on this art journal page.

This art journal spread was a bit of a collage. I drew the weed in hopes  of it looking like it was inspired by art nouveau. I colored the “weed”  with colored pencils. Painted the page with earth tone acrylic paints.

I typed my verse into a word document and printed out. Once I  attached it to a manilla tag I added peeled paint distress stain across  the lettering.  Then to add a little flair and some more earth tones I distress stained two strips of ribbon and tied them to the tag. Finally I added my tag to the page with a pewter leaf brad. Voila, it’s finally finished.

What do you think “Nurture the seeds you plant, lest they sprout weeds,” means?! I’d like to read your thoughts. Comment below!

Got an art journal page that still needs to be finished?! Go get it done and then post it to the flickr group. 😀

Love♥Write,

j.ajabad

 

About onecanvasonesoul

I'm an artist of the poetic persuasion yet I dabble in papercrafts, art journaling and scrapbooking!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Canvas Contents

*~NOTICE~*

All photos, artwork, and text is the creation and property of j.ajabad. UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED! ANY and ALL pieces contributed to Canvas Poesiart are the sole property of the author(s) and or artist(s) who have generously submitted their work(s) to the Canvas Poesiart blog. (Whenever possible Canvas Poesiart gives proper credit and recognition to those who contribute to the blog.) ALL RIGHTS RESERVED! No part of this blog maybe copied or used without the written permission of the author(s) and or artist(s). !CANVAS POESIART LOVES WRITE!

CURRENTS

