Ink Stained Heart

If I Were A….

“If I were A…” is a prompt I found in my twitter feed a few days ago. You can check out more about this prompt here. Here’s my response to the prompt:

If I were a hawk

I’d glide through the ethereal

brushing the branches of trees

they’d shutter in their barks

at the gusts of wind

my wings generate.

I’d tear through clouds

of cotton

and pierce curtains of rain.

I’d swoop down

plucking a snack

from the earth

and soar to my perch

I shall sit upon

a wooden throne

of branches and leaves

eating my fill

and do it all the next day.

I am majestic in flight

my gaze is strong

have you seen me?

I don’t mean to boast

even when I screech

for attention,

I’ve heard and seen

many a crowd gazing up at me.

(c) j.ajabad 2014

 

Thank you for reading and stopping by! 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About onecanvasonesoul

I'm an artist of the poetic persuasion yet I dabble in papercrafts, art journaling and scrapbooking!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “If I Were A….

  1. Reblogged this on Sophie Aussie and commented:
    I love this to bits! Great work. I would be part of that crowd gazing upon the hawk 🙂

    On a visual note, be aware that the lines of your background sometimes cut through your words, making them a little hard to read. Great poem, though!

    Like

    Posted by Sophie Aussie | April 17, 2014, 5:08 pm
    • Thank you for your feedback, Sophie! I’m glad you liked it. I suspected that I needed to fix my background but it’s always great to have a second opinion! 😀 P.S– thanks for reblogging!

      Like

      Posted by j.ajabad | April 17, 2014, 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Canvas Contents

*~NOTICE~*

All photos, artwork, and text is the creation and property of j.ajabad. UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED! ANY and ALL pieces contributed to Canvas Poesiart are the sole property of the author(s) and or artist(s) who have generously submitted their work(s) to the Canvas Poesiart blog. (Whenever possible Canvas Poesiart gives proper credit and recognition to those who contribute to the blog.) ALL RIGHTS RESERVED! No part of this blog maybe copied or used without the written permission of the author(s) and or artist(s). !CANVAS POESIART LOVES WRITE!

CURRENTS

