Poememes

Poememes: Stylized Letter

image

(Poememes: Stylized Letter)

This week’s poememe is a stylized letter and a verse of poetry. Some Victorian story books add flourishes to the first letter of a paragraph. This week let’s try to utilize thar ‘ol Victorian charm in our art and verse, shall we. I call it stylized cause I somehow haven’t been able to find the actual term for it.

Does anyone know what it is called? I like old book art. I suppose it has something to do with being a history major. Idk! Either way I’d like to know the terminology for that.

    I did a hybrid piece. The background is a file folder from Heidi Swapp’s color shine line and the purple is a “spray paint”.

I added an ornate frame in my pixel express app along with a verse:

“The little girl dreamt of lakes of lavender tea.”

Now it’s your turn! What kind of one verse story will emerge from your inkwell? How will you embellish the first letter of the sentence?

Post your piece to the flickr group or post a direct link to the comments section!

I’m looking forward to seeing your work! Hope you’ll share soon. šŸ˜€

Love Write,

j.ajabad

About onecanvasonesoul

I'm an artist of the poetic persuasion yet I dabble in papercrafts, art journaling and scrapbooking!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Poememes: Stylized Letter

  1. I think it is called an illuminated letter – and what a lovely idea it is.Ā  I have just returned from a weeks quilting and writing retreat but can’t wait to do something for this one

    Gillian

    ________________________________

    Like

    Posted by G PEEL | May 23, 2014, 10:08 pm
    • Thanks for stopping by Gillian! I hope your retreat was refreshingly creative. šŸ˜€ An illuminated letter does sound familiar now that I think about it. I remember watching a program about it awhile ago.

      I hope to see your work soon! šŸ˜€

      Like

      Posted by j.ajabad | May 27, 2014, 2:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Canvas Contents

*~NOTICE~*

All photos, artwork, and text is the creation and property of j.ajabad. UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED! ANY and ALL pieces contributed to Canvas Poesiart are the sole property of the author(s) and or artist(s) who have generously submitted their work(s) to the Canvas Poesiart blog. (Whenever possible Canvas Poesiart gives proper credit and recognition to those who contribute to the blog.) ALL RIGHTS RESERVED! No part of this blog maybe copied or used without the written permission of the author(s) and or artist(s). !CANVAS POESIART LOVES WRITE!

CURRENTS

