Journals in Progress

The Heart is like A Locket

I’ve always been something of  a sentimentalist but I find myself clinging to my memories more now in the wake  of tremendous grief. I lost my mom earlier this month and I have found myself digi-scrapping hardcore. Memories have become more like precious gems that I find myself seeking to preserve. I have found lately that layouts (LOs) are like mason jars while my photos are like jam.

(I’m still a novice) When I got photoshop CS5 I started digiscrapping more cause I was able to use the templates and tutorials available at a friendly little community called pixelscrapper.

I want to make sure that my layouts will not only preserve precious memories but also be enjoyed by my family and friends. Digiscrapping is better than the traditional paper scrapbooking because it’s cheaper and you don’t have to worry about messing up. However, I would say I am a bit of a hybrid scrapper because I like my paper stash too, LOL! My journey into scrapbooking began a year or two ago when the software I was using was a bit limited. Photoshop makes such a difference. And a wonderful community that provides encouragement and a willingness to share their scrapbook goodies with members goes a long way. 😀 Those two things have become great tools in my desire to preserve memories.

If I had started this new creative venture earlier I could have captured and shared so many wonderful moments with my mom. Well, I can still digiscrap my memories and begin an album, keeping it close to my heart forevermore.

Memories are life’s tokens of moments and the people who make our lives better. Memories are meant to be captured, preserved, shared and cherished. Sometimes memories sustain us through the long dark and bitter cold that is the season of grief. This is why scrapbooking has become such a staple in my life, even more so now than ever. It is my hope that I can share LO’snot just for feedback but also with friends and family. Digiscrap is great because I can make one layout and print it five times if necessary. Or keep it as a PSD file and revise, edit and retool the layout.

I have combined my interest with (digi)scrapbooking and poetry: scrapetry. Can you stand to see another hybrid word? Someone is probably sighing as they read this. How many compound words can one possibly make using the word “poetry”? I’m not sure but I think two is my limit: “poartry” & “scrapetry”….LOL!

Love Write,

j.ajabad

P.S–For this week’s POEMEMES (yes, it is back!) I want a reader to come up with the prompt.  Suggest your prompt in the comment section for this Thursday. Remember a Poememe is a verse of poetry accompanied by art.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About onecanvasonesoul

I'm an artist of the poetic persuasion yet I dabble in papercrafts, art journaling and scrapbooking!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Canvas Contents

*~NOTICE~*

All photos, artwork, and text is the creation and property of j.ajabad. UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED! ANY and ALL pieces contributed to Canvas Poesiart are the sole property of the author(s) and or artist(s) who have generously submitted their work(s) to the Canvas Poesiart blog. (Whenever possible Canvas Poesiart gives proper credit and recognition to those who contribute to the blog.) ALL RIGHTS RESERVED! No part of this blog maybe copied or used without the written permission of the author(s) and or artist(s). !CANVAS POESIART LOVES WRITE!

CURRENTS

