The Artist Arsenal

A Photo a Day for a Month

After reading a blog post at pixelscrapper, about how the founder/designer took a few photos to capture their July, I decided to do the same for August. I wanted to find a calendar template layout but couldn’t find a satisfactory template. Then I decided maybe I could figure out how to make my own calendar in photoshop but then I decided it would be easier if I found an app that had a place where I could showcase a photo I took each day.  I thought that if I had a calendar on my android  phone where I could plug in a photo everyday it would be quite helpful and then I could take that calendar and turn it into a fun scrapbook layout.

It took me sometime before I found an app that worked for me. Two out of the three I tried had the date in the center of the photo. Which I hated. The first photo-a-day app had the option to set a reminder but I did not like the font and how the title of the app was above the month. I also had no way of sharing my photos i.e sending myself a copy of the calendar.

The second photo-a-day app had a couple more options including a way to share my calendar. However, the ability to share the calendar was not at all effective because each time I tried to share it with flickr or e-mail it to myself the app would freeze.

The third and current app I use is my365!  With this app you need to signup! You can do so through facebook or twitter. This app is quite cool because it looks like a scrapbook layout in and of itself. The days of the month are in the corner of the page instead of in the center.

Other features:

  • in-app photo editing. tints appear to be vignette-like.
  • users can access their calendars through the phone app or the net
  • personal url for their calendar.
  • privacy settings

This app appears to be relatively new. At first I had some issues with the app. At one point it froze and I lost my photos. However, in my phone’s gallery there is a my365 album, so that is a helpful feature though you’ll have to plug them back in again.  Another issue I ran into was my photos on my cell phone calendar were not present on the site. It took a few hours to catch up with my account, I suppose. However, photos are now visible on both venues. 😀

Despite a few bugs this seemingly new app is promising and I think it may helpful for my photo-a-day project this month. I’ll be sure to let you know more about my experiences with this app over the coming days. 😀

How do you chronicle your life? Why have you chosen this medium?

p.s– There is an app called project 365 but it is seems like it is only available for iphones. :(LOL!

About onecanvasonesoul

I'm an artist of the poetic persuasion yet I dabble in papercrafts, art journaling and scrapbooking!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Canvas Contents

*~NOTICE~*

All photos, artwork, and text is the creation and property of j.ajabad. UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED! ANY and ALL pieces contributed to Canvas Poesiart are the sole property of the author(s) and or artist(s) who have generously submitted their work(s) to the Canvas Poesiart blog. (Whenever possible Canvas Poesiart gives proper credit and recognition to those who contribute to the blog.) ALL RIGHTS RESERVED! No part of this blog maybe copied or used without the written permission of the author(s) and or artist(s). !CANVAS POESIART LOVES WRITE!

CURRENTS

